Nigerian states and their agricultural produce

Nigeria is a nation abundantly blessed with agricultural resources and vast agricultural products.

From the North to the South, East to the West of Nigeria, there are abundant varieties of agricultural products and resources that are found to grow and suitable for cultivation in the soils in the regions and states.

In the words and lyric of the aesthetic and consummate photographer, song writer and Musician; TY Bello, “The land is truly green”.

Before the oil discovery and oil boom era in Nigeria, agriculture accounted for more than 90% of the common wealth and resources of Nigeria; with the country being sufficient in food production and made wealthy by agricultural exports.

Unfortunately, more than 50 years after independence and the discovery of oil in Nigeria, agriculture has been relegated to the background, statistics turned and the lands deserted.

Today Nigeria cannot produce enough food and agric products to feed itself, thereby spending billions of dollars and trillions of naira in food imports to make up for the deficit in food production back home. On the export map, we have also fast taken the back position in the statistics of leading food exporters in the world.

However, the good news is and still is that;

Our lands are still green!

Our soils are still fertile!

Our states are still much abundantly blessed in these agricultural products that once made us the envy of nations!

Our lands are still arable!

Our youths are still able!

Now, let us take a look at the many vast agricultural resources found in different states in Nigeria

The main oil palm producing states are: Cross River, Akwa Ibom, Ekiti, Delta, Bayelsa, Ogun, Rivers, Anambra, Ondo, Enugu, Imo, Oyo, Abia, Edo, and Ogun.

The main areas of rice cultivation in the country include the states of Kebbi, Kano, Ebonyi, Anambra, Niger and Taraba, Kebbi is the main rice producing state in Nigeria.

The major producers of cotton are Kaduna, Ondo, Kano, Katsina ,Oyo, Kwara, Ogun, Zamfara, Jigawa, Sokoto, and Kebbi.

Kano, Kaduna, Kebbi, Sokoto, Jigawa, Bauchi, Katsina and Zamfara States are the main producers of the commodity.

Kaduna State stands as the highest producer of the crop while states like Gombe, Bauchi, Benue, Nassarawa are major producers.

Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Yobe, Jigawa, Gombe, Taraba, Plateau, Sokoto, Kebbi, Katsina, Nasarawa ,Niger and Zamfara. Though Borno and Yobe states are the major producers in Nigeria.

The main areas of production in Nigeria are Jigawa, Kano, Bauchi states. Also produced in Sokoto, Zamfara, Katsina, and Borno states.

Niger, Kano, Jigawa, Zamfara,Kebbi, Sokoto, Katsina, Kaduna, Adamawa, Yobe, Borno, Taraba, Plateau, Nasarawa, Bauchi, and Gombe States are the major producers of the commodity.

The major yam producing states in Nigeria are: Taraba, Benue, Niger and Nassarawa. Benue state is however the largest producer.

Main producing states are Imo, Ondo, Anambra, Kogi, Taraba, Cross River, Enugu, Ogun, Benue, Delta, and Edo.

Enugu, Oyo, Anambra, Kogi, Osun, Abia, Ondo, Benue, Cross River, Imo, Ekiti, Ebonyi, Kwara and Nassarawa.

The Central states of Nigeria such as Niger, Kaduna, Taraba, Plateau, and Adamawa are the major producers.

The major growing/production areas in Nigeria are: Borno, Zamfara, Sokoto, Kano, Gombe and Yobe

Benue, Kaduna, Nasarawa, Kebbi, Kwara, Oyo, Jigawa, Borno, Bauchi, Lagos, Sokoto, Zamfara and FCT stands as the main producing states of Soybean in Nigeria.

Edo, Delta, Ondo, Ogun, Abia, Anambra, Akwa Ibom, Cross River, Rivers, Ebonyi and Bayelsa States.

The major producing areas in order of priority are Kano, Nasarawa, Jigawa and Benue States. Other important areas of production are found in Yobe, Kano, Katsina, Kogi, Gombe, Kwara, Niger, Bauchi and Plateau States.

Some of the states where sugar cane can be produced in Nigeria include Sokoto, Taraba, Niger, Kogi, Kwara and most northern states.

Kaduna, Kano, Jigawa, Katsina, Sokoto, Plateau and Bauchi states

Ondo, Cross River, Ogun, Edo, Delta Ekiti, Osun and Oyo States of Nigeria which are the largest producers.

While tomatoes are cultivated in most states in the country, Jigawa, Katsina, Zamfara, Sokoto, Kaduna, Bauchi, Gombe, Taraba, Kano lead the pack in the commercial cultivation of the crop.

Zamfara, Niger, Plateau, Katsina, Kaduna, Benue, Kano, Bauchi, and Borno state

Nigeria’s northern states of Borno, Yobe, Jigawa, Kano, Zamfara, Katsina, Adamawa, Sokoto and Kebbi, are major wheat growing areas

Kano, Adamawa, Bauchi, Gombe, Niger, Kaduna, Zamfara, Borno, Taraba, Jigawa, Kebbi and also Oyo Kwara, Nassarawa to lesser extents.

The highest producing states in the country are: Ondo, Osun, Cross River, Ekiti, Oyo, and Edo.

Plantain is produced in the following states in Nigeria Lagos, Ondo, Ogun, Oyo, Oshun, Ekiti, Edo, Delta, Cross River, Akwa Ibom, Imo, Bayelsa, Abia and Ebonyi.

Happy Farming!

Good update We are indeed blessed only that it took a long time before our eyes are opened.

1 Like